• The SECEP Joint Board is made up of members from each participating school division's School Board

Name Division
Mr. Thomas L. Mercer, Sr. Chesapeake Public Schools - Chairperson
Mr. Robert Holt Franklin Public Schools
Mrs. Vicky Hulick Isle of Wight Public Schools
Mr. Carlos Clanton Norfolk Public Schools
Ms. Angelia Allen Portsmouth Public Schools
Dr. Carolyn Modlin Southampton Public Schools
Dr. Judith Brooks-Buck Suffolk Public Schools - Vice-Chairperson
Mrs. Kimberly Melnyk Virginia Beach Public Schools
  • The SECEP Joint Board has a Committee of Superintendents from the participating divisions

Name Division
Dr. Jared Cotton Chesapeake Public Schools
Ms. Tamara Sterling Franklin Public Schools
Dr. Jim Thornton Isle of Wight Public Schools
Dr. Sharon Byrdsong Norfolk Public Schools
Dr. Elie Bracy, III Portsmouth Public Schools
Dr. Gwendolyn P. Shannon Southampton Public Schools
Dr. John B. Gordon, III Suffolk Public Schools
Dr. Aaron C. Spence Virginia Beach Public Schools

SECEP Joint Board Meeting Schedule

    • October 9, 2019

      12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Joint Board Meeting

    • January 29, 2020

      12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Joint Board Meeting

      Meeting Agenda

    • March 25, 2020--Cancelled

      12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Joint Board Meeting

    • May 27, 2020--Cancelled

      12:30 PM - 1:30 PM Joint Board Meeting

    • May 28, 2020

      1:00 PM -  Virtual Joint Board Meeting

      Meeting Agenda

      To submit public comment to the SECEP Joint Board for the May 28, 2020 meeting regarding Agenda Items, email comments to sadler.david@secep.net.  Mr. Sadler is the Executive Director and he is the Clerk of the Board for the SECEP Joint Board.  All emails received by close of business May 27, 2020 will be provided to the SECEP Joint Board for the May 28, 2020 meeting.  

  • All SECEP Joint Board meetings are held at the SECEP Administrative Offices, 6160 Kempsville Circle, Suite 300B, Norfolk, VA 23502. Click Here for directions. 

    SECEP Joint Board Minutes

    Current School Year Minutes

    For additional SECEP Board Minutes, contact Deputy Clerk of the Board, Brenda Estes, at estes.brenda@secep.net. Requests must be in writing and request SECEP Board Minutes by school year.

    Guidelines for Public Comment

    Any citizen wishing to address the SECEP Joint Board during public comment must register with the Deputy Clerk of the Board, Brenda Estes, prior to the start of the meeting by calling 892-6100, emailing estes.brenda@secep.net or in person at the SECEP administrative offices. You must provide the Deputy Clerk the following information upon registering:

         Your Name
         Your Address
         The subject you wish to address
         Whether you have children attending SECEP
         Whether this is a personal matter dealing
         specifically with one student
    The Joint Board will always try to hear everyone who wishes to speak on a subject. Speakers are limited to one appearance of three (3) minutes per Joint Board Meeting.

    These Guidelines can be modified at any time at the discretion of the SECEP Joint Board.


    SECEP is committed to creating an accessible online environment for all visitors to its web site.  If you have difficulty accessing any of the information on this web page, please email secepwebconcern@secep.net and provide your name, mailing address, and phone number (if available), along with a description of the issue/concern that you have regarding the content and/or functionality of our website – www.secep.net. SECEP will respond to your concern/issue and provide you printed materials from the website and/or work to correct any issues of functionality.  You may also call 757-892-6108 and enter extension 1199 to provide this information in a voice message.